Album Review
Easy Star All Stars - Lonely HeartsEasy Star All Stars – Lonely Hearts

The Easy Star All Stars are a very exciting band that have been together since 2003, they are a reggae band who are signed to their very own Easy Star Record label which is based in New York and what makes the band so special is that they like to work other people’s albums in their own unique way giving everything that touch of reggae.

In 2003 these guys released ‘Dub Side Of The Moon’ which was a reggae tribute to the classic Pink Floyd album ‘Dark Side Of The Moon’, they then went on to release ‘Radiodread’ which is a re-working of the classic Radiohead album ‘OK Computer’ and now they are back with ‘Easy Star’s Lonely Hearts Dub Band’ which is a track by track reggae re-working of the classic Beatles album featuring many different guest musical artists on each and every track.

I do find it really pleasing that these guys take an album from a certain genre of music and re-work it to sound like a classic reggae album, like I could never imagine any Radiohead song turned into a reggae song but these guys have gone and done just that and mastered the way.

When I first listened through ‘Easy Star’s Lonely Hearts Dub Band’ I was blown away with how they had stripped down a classic Beatles album and reworked it with such a new and fresh approach making it sound well chilled out with its jazz/reggae sounds.

As mentioned above the album features many guest musical artists, most who have worked with these guys before and are also part of their touring band, Junior Jazz is the first guest musician as he opens up on the first track ‘Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band’, the track sets the tone for the rest of the album with its strong Jazz sounds.

The next track ‘With A Little Help From My Friends’ is a real soothing sounding sing-a-long reggae track that has so much going for it, but it is ‘Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds’ which stands out the most to me in the way that it is a bit of a psychedelic reggae track with such a catchy edge and this is mainly due to Frankie Paul’s extra work on the track. Another one of my favourite moments from the album is ‘When I’m Sixty Four’ the song features Sugar Minott and he actually works wonders for the song.

The more I listen to ‘Easy Star’s Lonely Hearts Dub Band’ the more the album grows on me, if you are a fan of The Beatles then you really need to give this an listen as it is quite unique for a cover, if you like Reggae then this is surly for you and if you like both the Beatles and reggae then this album is liking having all your Christmases and birthdays rolled into one.


Review by Trigger
 Band Members
Easy star All Stars - Band
Michael Goldwasser
Victor "Ticklah" Axelrod
Patrick Dougher
Victor Rice
 Track Listing
1. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band ft. Junior Jazz
2. With A Little Help From My Friends ft. Luciano
3. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds ft. Frankie Paul
4. Getting Better ft. The Mighty Diamonds
5. Fixing A Hole (Extended Dub Mix) ft. Max Romeo
6. She's Leaving Home ft. Kirsty Rock
7. Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite! ft. Ranking Roger
8. Within You Without You ft. Matisyahu
9. When I'm Sixty-Four (Extended Dub Mix) ft. Sugar Minott
10. Lovely Rita ft. Bunny Rugs & U-Roy
11. Good Morning Good Morning ft. Steel Pulse
12. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)
13. A Day In The Life ft. Michael Rose and Menny More
 Band Related Links
Easy Star All Stars Myspace
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?