Album Review
Yeah Yeah Yeahs  It's Blitz!Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It's Blitz!

Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Female-fronted grimey eratic indie wonderment, yes? Well, actually, no, not any more. Yes the female bit still stands, but the wildness has subsided considerably, and we're left with a disappointingly tame album, in all fairness. There's a reason that people remember previous releases “Pin,” “Gold Lion,” and “Date With The Night,” and it isn't just because they were released as singles. They've got some oomph, and have something about them which means you're happy in any time or place to just hurl yourself around like a looney.

And so in comparison, “It's Blitz!” is nothing. If everything else in Yeah Yeah Yeah's career was the cuh-razy party, this album is the morning after's come down, when you begin to question everything you've ever done.

“It's Blitz” consists of ten relatively slow tracks, (bar one,) but the most noticeable thing is the lack of guitars? It's all synth backing, with a dribble of piano. All the songs are well structured and fairly regular in that sense – but since when have Yeah Yeah Yeahs been regular? My point exactly. They aren't bad, just a bit namby-pamby, however “Dull Life” is one I've grown fond of. It's got a bit more pace than the rest of the album and gets you twitching, tapping, or whichever you prefer.

If you're a big fan of this band, there's a high probability this release will let you down. If you aren't, and you have no idea that Yeah Yeah Yeahs were once exciting, then I suppose it could pass as an average to good album. In it's own right, aside from expectations, it's better than a lot of stuff I've heard recently, but I may well have been listening to particularly bad stuff...


Review by Thom
 Band Members
Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Band
Karen O
Nick Zinner
Brian Chase
 Track Listing
1. Zero
2. Heads Will Roll
3. Soft Shock
4. Skeletons
5. Dull Life
6. Shame And Fortune
7. Runaway
8. Dragon Queen
9. Hysteric
10. Little Shadow
 Band Related Links
Yeah Yeah Yeahs Myspace
Yeah Yeah Yeahs Official Website
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?