Single Review
Pet Shop Boys - Yes.Pet Shop Boys – Yes

Fellow Alternative Vision reviewer Thom recently reviewed the new Pet Shop Boys single ‘Love etc’ now where I don’t agree with the rating he gave the track I do agree with the statement he made saying that the Pet Shop Boys will always be the Pet Shop Boys no matter what they do with their sound and they will only really appeal to the people that they have always appealed to.

The guys have been working with team Xenomania who have produced their new album ‘Yes’ they are the same production team that have recently worked for Girls Aloud, Sugababes and Gabriella Cilmi and pretty much done magic for them with the way that the songs are really accessible and have gone far in the charts and now it seems that the Pet Shop Boys are hoping the treatment the production team have giving them will continue to bring them that mainstream success in a more larger scale.

The album takes you on an electronic-pop ride, everything’s so bouncy full of beats and extremely catchy, the opening track on the album is the new single ‘Love etc’ the song is crammed full of synths and various different dance and pop beats which really brings the song to life in an upbeat way, the only thing that really spoils the song is the unique Pop Shop Boys style vocals that I have never been a fan of, but I am sure the hardcore fans will be loving every moment.

‘All Over The World’ is a fast paced track that’s full big electronic sounds, catchy vocals and even hand claps which is just calling out for you to get involved, no matter how much I don’t like the signature Pet Shop Boys style vocals this song really calls out for me to sing-along to the catchy lyrics of ‘This is a song about boys and girls you hear it playing all over the world’, without a doubt this is the best song on the album and has to be the bands next single.

There are some songs with really mad electronics on this album such as ‘Pandemonium’, seriously give the song a listen and then try and tell me you don’t like any Pet Shop Boys song whatsoever, as the song is actually great and very up tempo with one of the best introductions with its mad assault of electronics.

Where there are good songs on the album there are also some pretty awful tracks such as ‘Beautiful People’, the song sounds like it is stuck in 60’s, also ‘The Way It Used To Be’ is pretty bad as well, it features a really repetitive dance beat that actually runs for the whole duration of the song and by the end of it you will be lucky if you haven’t smashed your CD player up as it left me wanting to, but thank god for the skip button.

Overall the album isn’t a bad effort, it does have some sterling moments but at the same time it has some really weak moments, it’s not the kind of album that I would rush out and buy and I doubt it will be an album that I listen to much after I post this review but what I would advise is for you to download ‘All Over The World and ‘Pandemonium’ from ITunes and you will have the two of the best songs the Pet Shop Boys have to offer without the pain of having to listen to some really weak sounding songs in-between, it will be interesting to see if ‘Yes’ will gain the Pet Shop Boys a whole new fan base but as Thom said I doubt it’s going to happen.


Review by Trigger
 Band Members
Pet Shop Boys - Band
Neil Tennant
Chris Lowe
 Track Listing
1. Love Etc
2. All Over The World
3. Beautiful People
4. Did You See Me Coming
5. Vulnerable
6. More Than A Dream
7. Building A Wall
8. King Of Rome
9. Pandemonium
10. The Way It Used To Be
11. Legacy
 Band Related Links
Pet Shop Boys Myspace
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?