Album Review
Morrissey - Years Of RefusalMorrissey – Years Of Refusal

I reviewed the latest Morrissey single ‘I’m Throwing My Arms Around Paris’ a few weeks ago and I was actually pleasantly surprised by how good and catchy the song was as I have never been a fan of Morrissey and never really had time for his music but have since realised what I have been missing out on as he actually is a really good solo artists and deserves to be where he is today right at the top of the game headlining big stadiums and festivals all across the world.

Morrissey has enjoyed over 20 years of success as a solo artist and has also enjoyed many years off success in many bands including his time as the front man of The Smiths back in the 80’s, Morrissey worked on his new album ‘Years Of Refusal’ throughout 2008 with the late Jerry Finn who sadly died of a brain haemorrhage back in August 2008.

‘Years Of Refusal’ is a really strong sounding album, it features 12 tracks and opens up with ‘Something Is Squeezing My Skull’ which is a really bold sounding song where Morrissey rules with his strong vocal style and well written lyrics, the song has an overall rock meets pop feel about it and really gets in on the action during the last 30-40 seconds of the song.

‘Mama Lay Softly On The Riverbed’ is really slow paced vocally, with Morrissey singing ‘Mama, Mama’ over and over again, whilst a great drum roll is going on in the background throughout the whole song. ‘Black Cloud’ starts off with lots of electronics and progresses on to be a song with quite a diverse sound, one second there is electronics everywhere and the next there is an acoustic guitar being strummed, one minute the vocals are deep and dark sound and the next they are clear and melodic.

The best songs on the album have to be the current single ‘I’m Throwing My Arms around Paris’ where Morrissey has a big sing-a-long moment with such a cute soft effect. The other song that really stands out is ‘That’s How people Grow Old’ the song is full of catchy guitar riffs and Morrissey vocally at his best with the really catchy chorus of “That’s how people grow up, that’s how people grow up’.

The only thing about ‘Years Of Refusal’ that I am not too keen about is the album cover art work I can’t quite work out what it’s all about, it features Morrissey dressed in his best Fred Perry shirt holding a devil type baby with a scar on his head and comes across slightly odd to me, but musically the album is well worth a listen from the opening vocals of ‘Something Is Squeezing My Skull’ to the closing drum beats of ‘I’m Ok By Myself’.


Review by Trigger
 Band Members

 Track Listing
1. Something Is Squeezing My Skull
2. Mama Lay Softly on the Riverbed
3. Black Cloud
4. I'm Throwing My Arms Around Paris
5. All You Need Is Me
6. When Last I Spoke to Caro
7. That's How People Grow Up
8. One Day Goodbye Will Be Farewell
9. It's Not Your Birthday Anymore
10. You Were Good in Your Time
11. Sorry Doesn't Help
12. I'm OK by Myself
 Band Related Links
Morrissey Myspace
Morrissey Website
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?