Album Review
The Outline - You Smash It, We'll Build Around It.The Outline - You Smash It, We'll Build Around It

I first came across The Outline a few weeks ago when I checked out their new single 'Sloppy Drunk', the single was a really upbeat fun song that I really liked, it stuck around in my head for days. Well the band have now announced that they will be releasing their new album 'You Smash It, We'll Build Around It' in the UK on the 26th May, now this is an album I have been looking forward to listening to ever since I first heard 'Sloppy Drunk' but I have to say now that I have my hands on the album it certainly wasn’t worth the wait and is a big disappointment especially considering how great 'Sloppy Drunk' is.

'You Smash It, We'll Build Around It' is an album that The Outline have really experimented on, no two songs sound the same, with each song having a totally different musical style and feel about it, now I don’t mind bands experimenting with their musical style but I feel that The Outline have gone a bit too far with their experimenting as this album is all over the place.

The album opens with 'Aesthetics' the song is extremely random with a lot going on, sounding more like four songs than it does one, their are a lot of soundscapes running throughout the song, but nothing really that pleasing on the ear, even frontman Graham Fink's vocals are a bit of a let down here. 'Life Or Life Like' has an introduction of robot sounding electronic sounds, the vocals are once again quite toned down and offer nothing that special until the end where the vocals get a bit more upbeat and shouty, but by this point most people would have already skipped the track or switched off as I was extremely close to doing that.

The albums not all doom and gloom there are some good moments on offer such as 'Shotgun', the song is really fast and a really catchy number that is bound to get you bopping your head around and the best moment from the album is obviously the bands single release 'Sloppy Drunk' the song is truly outstanding but these moments are not enough to warrant anyone spending their money on such a ‘shouldy’ sounding album.

I was expecting big things from 'You Smash It, We'll Build Around It', but instead what I got was an album full of 12 tracks where 1 is outstanding, 1 is not bad and 10 are fillers that nearly fall into the truly awful category. I now understand why it has taken The Outline so long to release an album in the UK and I sure hope they don’t hurry up to follow it up.


Review by Trigger
 Band Members
The Outline - Band
 Track Listing
1. Aesthetics
2. Life Or Life-Like
3. Death To Our Enemies (We'll Make 'Em Sorry)
4. Why We're Better Now
5. Shotgun
6. My Masked Lust
7. In Light Of Recent News
8. Sloppy Drunk
9. Perfect For The Plain
10. Tragic Tunes
11. Interlude
12. Broadway And Hurst
 Band Related Links
The Outline Myspace
The Outline Official Website
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?