Album Review
Cancer Bats - Birthing The GiantCancer Bats - Hail Destroyer

The Cancer Bats have come along way since they formed back in 2004, the band released their debut album Birthing The Giant on the 6th June 2006, the album gained a lot of interest from the press all over the world and it wasn’t until 2007 that the band really took off, touring across America, Canada and England as much as possible, Cancer Bats were my favourite new band of 2006 and 'Birthing The Giant' was my overall favourite album of 2006, the band have been busy working on a follow up album in between their constant hectic tour schedule, the bands second album is now here and comes under the name of Hail Destroyer.

If you have had the pleasure of hearing the bands debut album Birthing The Giant you will know that the Cancer Bats are an energetic band that are all about heavy riffs, screamo vocals and making as much noise as possible whilst still knocking out a good tune, Hail Destroyer see's the band carry on the same theme but this time they have knocked the heaviness up a notch and done what most bands struggle to do and produced an outstanding second album that kicks the shit out of 'Birthing The Giant'.

The album opens up with the title track 'Hail Destroyer' and the heavy punchy riff that opens the song, sets the pace for the next 30 minutes, 'Hail Destroyer' is an outstanding song and Liam Cormier's vocals sound rawer here than on the bands previous outing, the riffs are proper huge and in your face. 'Harem Of Scorpions' has quite a melodic introduction but as soon as Liam's vocals kick in the chances of a melodic song are washed out of the way as his fast shouty vocals take over treating us to another heavy masterpiece.

Things take a slight change for the introduction of 'Deathsmarch' the song opens up with your average drumming and before long the guitars come in sounding big and before you know it Liam's vocals come in but not quite like you would expect, the vocals are more sing a long and more understandable until the song reaches its peak for the aggressive shouted chorus.

The whole of Hail Destroyer is really listenable its one of them rare albums where there is not a dull moment in sight, each song is good in its own way, and the heavy riffs and shouty vocals is enough to make anyone bounce off their bedroom walls.

It’s hard to pick a favourite song from Hail Destroyer as every song really is that good, however my favourite moments from the album so far has to be the rocking 'Lucifer's Rocking Chair' which simply has some great guitar solo's and proper in your face vocals and my other favourite moment has to be 'Pray For Darkness', the song is completely mental, has a lot going on and is extremely heavy, Liam's vocals are faster than ever, the guitars are big and heavy and the finishing guitar solo is breathtaking.

The album finishes with 'Zed's Dead, Baby' the song is proper heavy, yet has quite a fast melodic pace and finishes with a long instrumental outro.

There are many great hardcore bands in the music scene at the moment but none come close to being as raw, heavy, fast and as energetic as the Cancer Bats, the band have been working their arses off since they released their debut album back in 2006 and have managed to out do themselves with 'Hail Destroyer' the album is pure fast paced aggressive hardcore music and could well be many peoples favourite album of 2008, it’s to early to tell at the moment but its certainly my favourite album of 2008 so far.


Review by Trigger
 Band Members
Cancer Bats - Band
Liam Cormier (vocals)
Scott Middleton (guitar)
Mike Peters (drums)
Jaye R. Schwarzer (bass)
 Track Listing
1. Hail Destroyer
2. Harem Of Scorpions
3. Deathsmarch
4. Regret
5. Bastard's Waltz
6. Sorceress
7. Lucifer's Rocking Chair
8. Let It Pour
9. Smiling Politely
10. Pray For Darkness
11. PMA 'till I'm DOA
12. Zed's Dead, Baby
 Band Related Links
Cancer Bats Official Website
Cancer Bats Myspace
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?