Album Review
Fear Before The March Of Flames - The Always Open Mouth.Fear Before The March of Flames – The Always Open Mouth

After an arty-experimental-progressive intro, you find yourself violently hurled into the heavy grumbling dis-jointed riffs of"Drowning the Old Hag." It's the musical equivalent of being thrown into a circle pit while you're drinking a pint. The thing it all lacks is some singing. The vocals rely on some monotone shouts andgut-wrenching screams. It all seems like a bit of a waste of what is,on the whole, really good music. But I suppose, for that genre, that'swhat makes them good. "Taking Cassandra to the End of the World Party"is when some proper singing starts- over a brilliant guitar and drum intro, lacking all the floor-bouncing-bass of the previous tracks. Asexpected it finally finds it's way into a distorted tangle and the eerie vocals once again turn into screams. But it's actually really good here, the song is getting somewhere.

Now, the album has really found it's feeling. The initial tracks are slightly misleading, the rest of these tracks are fantastic. Still retaining the heaviness, but this time blending awesome riffs and sequences, and the occasional softer break-down. Other key tracks include "Dog Sized Bird," "...As A Result of Signals Being Crossed,"and the fantastic "My Deer Hunter," starting with a gentleelectro-style into and eventually building up to some really atmospheric stuff, with powerful deep chords and two vocals shoutingaway, as if helplessly lost in the ambient tangle.

With exception of the final track, the album ends up where it started.The indie-influences that crept in for the excellent mid-section have disappeared once more, and we're back to square one. The final track,"Absolute Past," is more of a glorified outro than a song, but it'scertainly a good end to an interesting album.


Review by Thom
 Band Members
Fear Before The March Of Flames - Band
David Michael Marion (vocals)
Adam Rupert Fisher (guitar/vocals)
Mike Madruga (bass)
Zachary Hutchings (guitar)
Clayton Holyoak (drums)
 Track Listing
1. Absolute Future
2. Drowning The Old Hag
3. Mouth
4. Taking Cassandra To The End Of The World Party
5. Ten Seconds In Los Angeles
6. Waiting Makes Me Curious
7. High As A Horse
8. Dog Sized Bird
9. Complete And Utter Confusion
10. As A Result Of Signals Being Crossed
11. My Deer Hunter
12. Lycanthropy
13. Brief Tutorial In Bachanalia
14. Gift For Fiction
15. Absolute Past
 Band Related Links
Fear Before The March Of Flames Myspace
Fear Before The March Of Flames Official Website
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?