Album Review
Malefice - EntitiesMalefice - Entities

Malefice formed in 2003 and since then the band have shared stages with some huge bands in the scene from Chimaira, Sepultura, Sikth and Arch Enemy and it’s quite surprising that it’s taken the band until now to release their debut album 'Entities' but it’s definitely been worth the wait as the album is huge and full of heavy riffs that are loud enough to give you a headache and shatter the bones in your body, well near enough.

Craig Thomas' drumming is some of the best drumming I have heard in a long time, it’s extremely fast and extremely heavy sounding like an army of machine guns being fired in places. Ben Symons and Alex Vuskans twin guitar work and heavy metal riffs are good enough to give a metaller an orgasm, Tom Hynes bass playing is taken to the extreme and Dale Butler's vocals are mainly loud growls that fit in perfectly with the bands heavy instrumental work.

'Entities' opens up with 'Empirical Proof Part One' which is a laid back instrumental song but as soon as the kick ass fast drumming, massive metal guitar riffs and Dale's growling vocals come in on 'Risen Through The Ashes' you know you are in for a hectic ride that is not for the faint hearted.

'Dreams Without Courage' is quite an interesting song with its hectic feel and Dan Weller from Sikth features on the song with guest vocals which add a nice variety to the vocals and make the song stand out the most on the album.

The minute long laid back acoustic guitar introduction to 'Traitor To All You Know' gives your head a rest from all the heaviness but it’s not long until the sheer heaviness of the band repairs in the song with a mad burst of heavy riffs.

The whole album is fast, heavy and furious where everything is so precise which is mainly down to the band being so talented and taking 4 years to get an album out and also down to the great production job from a couple of the lad's from Sikth. It’s quite rare for an English metal band to burst out of the underground and enjoy worldwide success but Malefice have both the sound and the ability to do just that, and to be honest if they were American they would be extremely huge at the moment due to the fact American bands get so much more support over English bands.

With the release of 'Entities' Malefice have proven that they are a band to be watched over the next few years as they are going to be huge and be right up their challenging the heaviest of American metal bands, but don’t take my word for it check Malefice out for yourself as you won’t be dissapointed.


Review by Trigger
 Band Members
Malefice - Band
Dale Butler (Vocals)
Ben Symons (Guitar)
Alex Vuskans (Guitar)
Tom Hynes (Bass)
Craig Thomas (Drums)
 Track Listing
1. Empirical Proof (part one)
2. Risen through the Ashes
3. Into a new light
4. Dreams without Courage
5. History Repeats
6. Traitor to all you Know
7. Horizon Burns
8. Empirical Proof (Part II)
9. As Skies Turn Black
10. Nothing Left
11. A world deceased
12. Bringer of war
 Band Related Links
Malefice Myspace
Malefice Official Website
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?