Album Review
Maroon 5 - It Wont Be Soon Before LongMaroon 5 – It Won't Be Soon Before Long

Since their first hit album "Songs About Jane," it would appear things have changed in the Maroon 5 camp. The opening track "If I Never See Your Face Again," has more funky-wah guitar than all of 1973 and little synth bursts, which makes you question if you've actually just put on a George Michael album. It's all very happy-snappy and upbeat but there doesn't seem to be much depth to the track.

Similar story with the following track, however track three "Little Of Your Time," isn't bad at all. Very upbeat but with a significantly more rocky feel and a disjointed chord sequence that really grabs your attention; it's just a shame it only lasts just over two minutes. Definitely one of the best tracks on the album.

The next few tracks are pretty average, and more like the Maroon 5 that took the charts by storm in previous years. Floating tales with subtle piano chords that mean you'll find yourself singing along in no time.

It's not until track seven "Can't Stop" when everything goes up a gear and things get exciting again. However, strangely, similar to the last stand out track, it can't manage to reach the three-minute mark. It's another great track though, put together much like the other with prominent jagged chords and fast-paced verses; but they've found a formula that works so why not.

From then on it's a smooth ride to the end of the album, with nothing that particularly stands out.

I guess, your opinion on this album would depend on what you thought of their previous release. If you loved the last album start to finish, you'll no doubt enjoy this as it's full of "background music" and not much more. If however you loved "Harder To Breathe," could tolerate the other singles but didn't really find yourself captivated by the entire album, then you wouldn't be impressed by this release. And if you haven't heard the previous album, but you're a middle aged woman, you'll love it.


Review by Thom
 Band Members
Maroon 5 - Band
Adam Levine (Vocals, Guitar)
James Valentine (Guitar)
Jesse Carmichael (Keys)
Mickey Madden (Bass)
Matt Flynn (Drums)
 Track Listing
1. If I Never See Your Face Again
2. Makes Me Wonder
3. Little Of Your Time
4. Wake Up Call
5. Won't Go Home Without You
6. Nothing Lasts Forever
7. Can't Stop
8. Goodnight Goodnight
9. Not Falling Apart
10. Kiwi
11. Better That We Break
12. Back At Your Door
13. Until You're Over Me
14. Infatuation
 Band Related Links
Maroon 5 Myspace
Maroon 5 Official Website
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?