Album Review

Volbeat - Seal The Deal And Lets Boogie 
Volbeat - Seal The Deal And Lets Boogie

I cannot believe it’s taken me this long to find the time to check these guys out. This type of music has my taste written all over it, gritty hard rock with a melodic twist incorporating modern metal styles with old school rock and blues. Volbeat are a bad ass Danish group who have been kicking around since 2001 (which brings me all the more shame it’s taken this long) who gained a massive momentum gain with their 2013 album Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies.

So far I’m yet to find a song on this album I don’t like/have become fed up with, from start to finish it’s been energetic and addictive, I’ve struggled to swap over to other albums since discovering it. It’s heavy but not over the top, extremely melodic and infectious, bouncy and energetic. I must admit I had very different misconceptions as to what kind of style these guys would have; I was expecting a heavier metal but this is absolutely perfect every single song got a 5 star rating.

I strongly recommend every single person who likes rock and metal at least gives them a chance. Give it 20 minutes and tell me you don’t know/love/dance along to “Battleship Chains”.


Review by James Webb

 Band Members

Michael Poulsen
Jon Larsen
Rob Caggiano
Kaspar Boye Larsen
 Track Listing

1. The Devil’s Bleeding Crown
2. Marie Laveau
3. The Bliss
4. The Gates of Babylon
5. Let It Burn
6. Black Rose
7. Rebound
8. Mary Jane Kelly
9. Goodbye Forever
10. Seal The Deal
11. Battleship Chains
12. You Will Know
13. The Loa’s Crossroad

 Band Related Links
Volbeat Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?