Album Review

Napalm Death - Apex Predator - Easy MeatNapalm Death – Apex Predator - Easy Meat

The Birmingham based four piece grindcore band Napalm Death are back with their fifteenth studio album ‘Apex Predator – Easy Meat’ which is due for release on the 27th January on Century Media Records and before you even hear a second of music and check out the insane artwork which features a picture of packaged meat which is not packaged with the unusual meat you find down the super market but instead filled with brains and other crazy human looking meat you just know that the album is going to be insane.

In their massive 30 year career Napalm Death have released some outstandingly heavy albums which seem to follow a routine of a new album every two years, the band have also relentlessly toured across the world and it seems that venue staff these days can still not get it right as when I saw Napalm Death support Children Of Bodom back in 2013 it was one of the most insane live sets I have ever seen with extreme strobe lighting and frontman Mark Greenway running around like a lunatic unleashing his raw vocals but half way through the set he stopped to tell the venue staff to lay off the smoke machine as they are not a smoke machine band.

‘Apex Predator – Easy Meat’ opens up with some crazy chanting and quite soft soundscapes, sounding a bit like people marching for war and coming across quite experimental sounding and then as soon as the song finishes mayhem happens as Napalm Death storm straight into ‘Smash A Single Digit’ which is a proper head pounding, ear bashing offering which hardcore Napalm Death fans are going to fall in love with in seconds as it is truly bonkers and so true to the sound of Napalm Death.

Most of the songs on the album run between 2 and 3 minutes and are well written and recorded in the way that the guitars, drums, bass and vocals are all so heavy yet so enjoyable at the same time, songs like ‘Metaphorically Screw You’, ‘How The Years Condemn’, ‘Stubborn Stains’, ‘Cesspits’ and ‘Beyond The Pale’ are easily some of the best tracks on the album.

For the majority the album is extremely heavy but things tone down a bit for ‘Dear Slum Landlord’ where the same riffs run through the song and the vocals are more spoken word with a bit of distortion. ‘Hierarchies’ is also quite toned down from the majority of the album and features more traditional metal riffs and solos and dare I say it near melodic vocals at points.

Overall ‘Apex Predator – Easy Meat’ is exactly what you would expect from Napalm Death where Shane Embury, Mitch Harris, Danny Herrera and Mark Greenway are at the top of their game but then again there is no excuse for them not to be as they have been causing chaos to your eyes, head and ear drums for so long now as they are excellent musicians.


Review by Trigger

 Band Members

Mark "Barney" Greenway
Shane Embury
Mitch Harris
Danny Herrera
 Track Listing

1. Apex Predator - Easy Meat
2. Smash A Single Digit
3. Metaphorically Screw You
4. How The Years Condemn
5. Stubborn Stains
6. Timeless Flogging
7. Dear Slum Landlord…
8. Cesspits
9. Bloodless Coup
10. Beyond The Pale
11. Stunt Your Growth
12. Hierarchies
13. One-Eyed
14. Adversarial / Copulating Snakes

 Band Related Links
Napalm Death Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?