Album Review

Motionless In white - ReincarnateMotionless In white – Reincarnate

Motionless In White are back in a big way not only have they just announced a co-headline tour of the UK with goth rockers Lacuna Coil but they have also just released their third studio album ‘Reincarnate’ and it is easily their biggest and best release to date and is hopefully they album which will help catapult the band to the next level.

With ‘Reincarnate’ Motionless In White have grown in every way possible not only do the band smash boundaries with their twisted industrial metal core sounds but they have managed to create an album that is so diverse that throughout in you will notice massive influences from bands such as Korn, The Murderdolls, Rammstein, Marilyn Manson, Rob Zombie, Black veil Brides, Five Finger Death Punch and many others.

The album kicks off with the explosive ‘Death March’ the song is seriously massive sounding and really sets the pace for the next 55minutes as the band mix things up as they smash elements of metalcore and industrial together for one hell of an ride which see’s Chris Motionless lay his vocals down in quite a soft way so similar to the vocals of Marilyn Manson, before having a slight rendition of Korn’s ‘Shoots And Ladders’ towards the later part of the song.

The album title track ‘Reincarnate’ also happens to be the lead single taken from the album and it is easily the biggest anthem on the album, the riffs are extremely chunky sounding yet when the chorus kicks in and Chris Motionless cries out “Crawling from hell fallen from grace and there is nothing left to take leaving the past to the grave so we can reincarnate” in a melodic way the radio friendliness of the song shines through.

‘Puppets 3 (The Grand Finale) is the latest single to be taken from the album and features Cradle Of Filth’s Dani Filth on guest vocals and as soon as the song starts you are met with machine gun style riffs and spooky screams and as soon as the song hits the 30second mark Dani Filth comes in with his fast flowing horror style vocals with Chirs Motionless joining him 20seconds later for an amazing battle off of vocals before the melodic chorus hits giving the song a slightly special feel.

‘Unstoppable’ really reminds me of the softer side of Five Finger Death Punch and I think that is down to the way that Chris Motionless takes a totally different approach with his vocals and lasts the majority of the song with the melodic side of his vocals showing, apart from the epic break down where he screams out “You wanted a war, you got one motherfucker” which is shortly followed up by a massive riffage session.

‘Everybody Sells Cocaine’ has the potential to be a future single as the song is bonkers from start to finish as Motionless In white go down the industrial metal route with massive synths and riffs charging out of your speakers with Chris Motionless screaming “Just do it, do it” in a frantic way.

‘Contemptress’ features In This Moment’s Maria Brink on guest vocals and see’s Motionless In White go down a more soft melodic route and it works really well as the song ends up coming across pretty damn huge once the chorus kicks in.

The likes of ‘Generation Lost’ and ‘Final Dicvtm’ are both completely crazy as both songs go all out with massive in your face synths and with ‘Final Dicvtm’ taking the edge due to Tim Skold guesting on the song and completely slaying it in such a good way.

‘Dead As Fuck’ is a big fist in the air fuck you song and it sounds like a cross of Marilyn Manson mixed with Rob Zombie finished off with a slice of classic Motion Less In White and is a great listen from start to finish.

I feel that with ‘Reincarnate’ Motionless In White have got to a point where they want to progress and gain a bigger fan base and tear up the bigger venues and I feel that by making ‘Reincarnate’ as big and diverse sounding as they have they are certainly on the right tracks and deserve every bit of success that is going to come their way as ‘Reincarnate’ is a flawless album which you can listen to again and again without ever getting bored as the album takes you through so many different music genres and emotions.


Review by Trigger

 Band Members

Chris Motionless
Ricky Horror
Josh Balz
Ryan Sitkowski
Devin "Ghost" Sola
 Track Listing

1. 1. Death March
2. Reincarnate
3. Puppets 3 (The Grand Finale) (Feat. Dani Filth of Cradle Of Filth)
4. Unstoppable
5. Everybody Sells Cocaine
6. Contemptress (Feat. Maria Brink of In This Moment)
7. Break the Cycle
8. Generation Lost
9. Dark Passenger
10. Wasp
11. Dead as Fuck
12. Final Dictvm (Feat. Tim Skold)
13. Carry the Torch

 Band Related Links
Motionless In White Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?