Album Review

Me First And The Gimmie Gimmies - Are We Not Men? We Are DivaMe First And The Gimmie Gimmies – Are We Not Men? We Are Diva

Any day now Me First And The Gimmie Gimmies will release their eighth studio album ‘Are We Not Men? We Are Diva’ which happens to be their first album in nearly 6 years and through the years the band have released albums featuring covers of hits from the 60’s and 70’s, show tunes, country music and even Japanese music and now their new album features 12 songs originally preformed by divas and is such a great listen.

‘Are We Not Men? We Are Diva’ features covers of songs by the likes of Gloria Gaynor, Paula Abdul, Cher, Christina Aguilera, Celione Dion, Dolly Parton, The Carpenters, Lady Gaga, Culture Club, Madonna, Donna Summer and Barbra Streisand which is an impressive selection of artists for Me First And The Gimmie Gimmies to cover and as soon as they put their fast paced punk rock energy into the songs they clearly make them their own.

The album opens with a cover of Gloria Gaynor’s ‘I Will Survive’ and as soon as the song opens with Chris Shiflett and Joey Cape’s fast paced guitar riffs you just know that the band are going to give ‘I Will Survive’ the big fast paced make over that it has been crying out for and within moments Fat Mike comes in with some big bouncy basslines whilst front man Spike Slawson lays down his vocals like the song was originally written for him.

‘Straight Up’ by Paula Adbul is a song which the band cover in style because as soon as the song kicks off it flows at such a fast and furious pace with such a massive chant-a-long chorus which is bound to cause a scene in the pit at future Me First And The Gimmie Gimmie gigs.

Back in 1998 Cher released the irritatingly infectious song ‘Believe’ and it spent far too many weeks at the top of the singles chart and I am sure still to this day the song is many people’s guilty pleasure and now Me First And The Gimmie Gimmies have gone and done a great cover of the song full of fast paced guitars, banging drums and a bit of auto tune to keep true to the original version of the song.

The bands cover of Christina Aguilera’s ‘Beautiful’ is quite fun but Spike Slawson doesn’t quite match the impressive vocal range of Christina Aguilera but then again that’s not what the band stepped out to do as once again they have managed to make another diva song sound like their own.

Celine Dion’s ‘My Heart Will Go On’ must be one of the most played songs in the world especially when the song was featured in the movie Titanic and also on the soundtrack so Me First And The Gimmie Gimmies deciding to cover the song was a good move as it is such a well known song and for a matter of minutes we get to see Me First And The Gimmie Gimmies in a slight serious way as they add some slow drum beats to the song whilst Spike Slawson slowly sings his heart out.

Towards the middle of the album there is a triple whammy of gems as the band cover Dolly Parton’s ‘I Will Always Love You’, The Carpenters ‘Top Of The World’ and Culture Club’s ‘Karma Chameleon’ and each and every one of these tracks were absolute infectious party anthems back in their day and the punk rock twist which Me First And The Gimmie Gimmies give to the songs make them sound that little bit more enjoyable.

Things slow down a bit for the bands cover of Madonna’s ‘Crazy For You’ a song which features an acoustic guitar and the band singing full of melody.

Me First And The Gimmie Gimmies are easily the best cover band in the world, with every album release they take a style of music pick 12 of their favourite artists and songs from that genre and rework those songs to stay true to the original whilst also making them their own and I feel that with ‘Are We Not Men? We Are Diva’ the band have created their best album and in the near future I would love to see them on the live circuit where they play the album in its entirety whilst also throwing in the usual fan favourites for good measure.


Review by Trigger

 Band Members

Spike Slawson
Joey Cape
Chris Shiflett
Fat Mike
Dave Raun
 Track Listing

1. I Will Survive
2. Straight Up
3. Believe
4. Beautiful
5. My Heart Will Go On
6. I Will Always Love You
7. Top of the World
8. Speechless
9. Karma Chameleon
10. Crazy for You
11. On the Radio
12. The Way We Were

 Band Related Links
Me First And The Gimmie Gimmies Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?