Album Review

Paul Heaton And Jacqui Abbott - What Have We BecomePaul Heaton And Jacqui Abbott – What Have We Become

On the 12th May Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott are set to release their brand new studio album ‘What Have We Become’ which also coincides with their UK tour which kicks off on the 20th May which will see them play songs from the album as well as a mixture of classic Beautiful South and The Housemartins songs, the album and tour see’s the two ex Beautiful South members team up for the first time in 14 years and if the album is anything to go by then the tour is going to be a blast.

‘What Have We Become’ features 12 brand new tracks from Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott and it seems that the solid musicianship the two had all those years ago during their days in the Beautiful South has not been lost as ‘What Have We Become’ is a big fun instantly accessible album which features so much lyrical wit, beautiful vocals and a wide variety of instrumental work which will keep you entertained for hours.

The album opens with ‘Moulding Of A Fool’ which features a really beautiful up tempo keyboard piece running throughout whilst Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott sing side by side in such an upbeat style and with amazing confidence, the song has all the element to be on heavy rotation on the radio and music television mainly due to the fact that these two have been in the music industry for so many years that they have clearly mastered the knack of writing, recording and performing such stand out songs, lyrically the song is extremely witty with Paul Heaton singing “The revolution won’t be televised and neither will your death... your death will pass unnoticed like a hiccup or a cough”.

‘D.I.Y’ continues the upbeat pace of the opening track and is a track where the band go out with groovy guitar riffs, big keyboard sounds and Jacqui Abbott covering a good 80% of the vocals throughout the song where she really shines with her loud, clear and confident vocals, overall the song has elements of The Beautiful South mixed with Caro Emerald and Imelda May giving it a big radio friendly retro feel.

‘Some Dancing To Do’ opens in a more deep and dark way and with gloomy keyboard and as the song progressed it maintains the darkness with the same keyboard lines running throughout whilst Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott slowly lay down their vocals in a serious manner.

‘One Man’s England’ is easily one of the best songs featured on the album and it happens to feature that big upbeat classic Beautiful South vibe which used to run through many Beautiful South songs back in the days of these two being in the band, the song is about the changing social landscape of England and is lyrically well written and vocally perfect executed.

With ‘What Have We Become’ Paul Heaton And Jacqui Abbott have gone on to create such a diverse sounding where the majority of the album is upbeat but then you have surprise moments like the sleepy sounding ‘The Snowman’ which features minimal instrumental work and the duo seriously shining as their vocals take centre stage. ‘Costa Del Sombre’ is an seriously upbeat song which is seriously going to get your dad dusting down his finest shoes so he can show off his dad dancing again. ‘Stupid Tears’ is extremely bouncy sounding and features some of the best instrumental work on offer throughout the whole album.

When The Beautiful South split in 2007 Paul Heaton went down the solo route whilst many of the band members went on to form a new band called The South who are heading out on tour throughout the whole of the summer but sadly The South lack the excitement of The Beautiful South but luckily you have no worry of ‘What Have We Become’ by Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott lacking excitement as the album is extremely listenable right throughout the 52minute running and I can clearly tell that the fans will have an absolute blast listening to the album and catching the duo on their up and coming tour, whilst also keeping their fingers crossed that this is the first of many albums from them.


Paul Heaton And Jacqui Abbott - D.I.Y

Review by Trigger

 Band Members

Paul Heaton
Jacqui Abbott
 Track Listing

1. Moulding of a Fool
2. D.I.Y
3. Some Dancing To Do
4. One Man's England
5. What Have We Become
6. The Snowman
7. Costa del Sombre
8. The Right In Me
9. When it Was Ours
10. I Am Not A Muse
11. Stupid Tears
12. When I Get Back To Blighty

 Band Related Links
Paul Heaton Facebook
Jacqui Abbott Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?