Album Review

You Me At Six - Cavalier YouthYou Me At Six – Cavalier Youth

You Me At Six are back with their fourth studio album ‘Cavalier Youth’ and this time around there has been a longer wait for the album compared to the wait between their previous album releases but there is a good reason for this as after the bands headline show at Wembley Arena back in 2012 they stepped out of the limelight and took a long time thinking about their future and which direction they wanted to go with album number 4 and now after listening to ‘Cavalier Youth’ it is safe to say that You Me At Six have their sights on a future of headlining arenas across the country and quite possible the world.

‘Cavalier Youth’ has well been worth the wait the album shows a more rock orientated side of the band and also a more mature side of the band and if you happen to listen to the album straight after listening to their debut album ‘Take Off Your Colours’ you will be left wondering if this is the same band as the immature pop songs of getting laid are long gone and more riff driven stadium rock numbers are in place.

The album opens with ‘Too Young To Feel This Old’ with Dan flints big drum beats and a general catchy vibe with Josh Franceschi going straight into his vocals of “We’re not young anymore, what you so scared of? Is it being alone when we no longer have the sun? I don’t need easy if beautiful means being none. I will look in with my eyes closed. Now I know I’ve found the one” showing that the band live up to the fact that they are growing up and conquer the theme of the song in a mature and slow paced way.

The singles ‘Lived A Lie’ and ‘Fresh Start Fever’ are featured back to back on the album and both songs are such a joy to listen to as between them they feature massive stadium sized instrumental work with epic guitar riffs, marching band style drumming in places and chant-a-long backing vocals which comes across pretty much as strong as the lead vocals from Josh Franceschi whilst showing off the amazing song writing skills the band have mastered and perfected over the last couple of years.

The likes of ‘Forgive And Forget’, ‘Room To Breathe’, ‘Cold Night’, ‘Hope For The Best’ and ‘Be Who You Are’ see the band take their song writing to the next level as throughout these songs there is everything on offer from catchy moments, serious moments and even a really short track which is very dreamy sounding yet just as listenable as the rest of the tracks on the album.

The currently released singles are easily the best tracks on the album but ‘Carpe Diem’ is not far behind and a song which I can see being released as a future single the song has the vibe of a summer anthem which I can see going down extremely well at the summers festivals when the beer is flowing and the sun is setting.

The album comes to a close with the sleepy sounding ‘Wild Ones’, the song is very simple sounding where everything from the drums to the guitars have been toned down whilst the main focus is on Josh Franceschi’s vocals which are beautiful throughout and closes the album in such a perfect way with the lyrics of “Are we gonna live forever” going around on a loop fading out to the music.

Ever since the release of ‘Lived a Lie’ and ‘Fresh Start Fever’ the fans has been waiting patiently for the release of ‘Cavalier Youth’ and now the album has finally been released I can see it going down a storm with fans of the band and at the same time I can see You Me At Six attracting a whole new fan base who may have wrote the band off in the early days.


Review by Trigger

 Band Members

Josh Franceschi
Max Helyer
Chris Miller
Matt Barnes
Dan Flint
 Track Listing

1. Too Young To Feel This Old
2. Lived A Lie
3. Fresh Start Fever
4. Forgive and Forget
5. Room To Breathe
6. Win Some, Lose Some
7. Cold Night
8. Hope For The Best
9. Love Me Like You Used To
10. Be Who You Are
11. Carpe Diem
12. Wild Ones

 Band Related Links
You Me At Six Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?