Album Review

Zebrahead - Call Your FriendsZebrahead – Call Your Friends

Everyone’s favourite pop-punk-rap-rockers Zebrahaead are back with their tenth studio album ‘Call Your Friends’ which is due for release on the 13th August, the album is a big happy chant-a-long party album which also manages to stay true to the Zebrahead sound that the fans have come to love and expect over the years.

The album opens with ‘Sirens’ a song which is big fun and witty with vocalist Matty Lewis spelling out “Fuck You” before Ali Tabatabaee comes in shouting “Fuck off and die" within the opening seconds of the song, the song flows for just over 3 minutes and it is a bouncy affair from start to finish and the guitars have seriously been turned up a few notches from previous Zebrahead material.

‘I’m Just Here For The Free Beer’ is a song which all Zebrahead fans can relate to and one that is bound to cause fun in the mosh pit with thousands of fans jumping around in a drunken state whilst trying not to spill their beer. Whilst ‘With Friends Like These, Who Needs Herpes’ is written proof that Zebrahead are still as immature as ever and are never going to grow up and that’s a good thing as Zebrahead are all about having fun and that is exactly what they have been doing for the past 15 years.

The album title track ‘Call Your Friends’ is the lead single to be taken from the album and it is a blast from start to finish, the song features the typical Zebrahead theme about drinking and having fun at a party, the lyrics have been written with fun in mind and the overall feel of the song leaves you wanting to head to Vegas, Ibiza or any other party capital with your friends to get seriously smashed whilst chanting the words from this song at the top of your voice.

‘Murder On The Airwaves’ is easily one of the strongest tracks on the album it just runs at a fast paced nature from start to finish and the way the vocals are executed by Matty Lewis and Ali Tabatabaee are just fantastic and the guitar solo and drum beats towards the end of the song really show off what talented musicians Zebrahead are.

Lyrically ‘Public Enemy Number One’ is fun with Ali Tabatabaee shouting out “It sucks to be you” and ‘No Matter what you do’ over and over again whilst Matty Lewis sings “You’re going down in history as the number one public enemy”, musically the song is fast yet aggressive.

Zebrahead have succeeded in keeping true to themselves and their fans with another 14 track album which hits all the right spots, the majority of the album sounds like what you would expect from Zebrahead but they also manage to throw some surprises in especially with the hectic sounding ‘Nerd Armor’, ‘Don’t Believe The Hype’ and ‘Last Call’ which all sound like Zebrahead have some aggression to shake off.


Review by Trigger

 Band Members

Ali Tabatabaee
Dan Palmer
Ben Osmundson
Ed Udhus
Matty Lewis
 Track Listing

1. Sirens
2. I'm Just Here for the Free Beer
3. With Friends Like These, Who Needs Herpes?
4. Call Your Friends
5. Murder On the Airwaves
6. Public Enemy Number One
7. Born to Lose
8. Stick Em Up Kid!
9. Automatic
10. Nerd Armor
11. Panic In the Streets
12. Don't Believe the Hype
13. Until the Sun Comes Up
14. Last Call

 Band Related Links
Deaf Havana Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?