Album Review

Mindless Self Indulgence - How I Learned To Stop Giving A Shit And Love Mindless Self IndulgenceMindless Self Indulgence – How I Learned To Stop Giving A Shit And Love Mindless Self Indulgence

Mindless Self Indulgence formed way back in 1997 and since then they have been causing a stir in the music industry with their frantic live shows and mixed music which see’s the best elements of pop, punk, rock, techno, and industrial music all mixed together for one truly explosive epic sound, they cracked America pretty early on in their career but it was the release of their forth studio album ‘If’ in 2008 which really put Mindless Self Indulgence on the map in the UK with various sold out headline tours including a stint on the Relentless sponsored Kerrang Tour in 2009.

Since Mindless Self Indulgence took the Kerrang tour by storm back in 2009 things have been quiet for the band due to starting family’s and various different solo projects but now the band are back with their fifth studio album ‘How I Learned To Stop Giving A Shit And Love Mindless Self Indulgence’ which was funded by a kickstarter campaign which generated a lot of interest.

‘How I Learned To Stop Giving A Shit And Love Mindless Self Indulgence’ opens in an immense way as Jimmy Urine screams “Son of a bitch” as ‘Witness’ opens the album, the song is crammed to the brim with synths, big tasty synths that are bound to make you go crazy jumping around like a mental case as Jimmy Urine also gets into your head with his fast paced infectious vocals.

‘Fuck Machine’ is a 3minute slice of catchiness, the song features mad synths, hard hitting guitar riffs and Jimmy Urine singing about nerds, having sex and making babies which may well be a weird song theme for your average band but Mindless Self Indulgence are not your average band they are a unique creation that thrive on witty lyrics and near to the knuckle themes.

‘It Gets Worse’ is a tasty little track and as the song progresses you start to wonder if you are still listening to Mindless Self Indulgence as the song sounds like a club classic but luckily Jimmy Urine’s unique vocals are constantly there to remind you who you are listening to and the guitar riffs towards the later part of the song from Steve Righ? Are hard hitting and damn right awesome.

As mentioned above Mindless Self Indulgence really don’t care what they write about and also don’t care who they offend and just looking at some of the track titles on the album you can see that, for example we have ‘I Want To Be Black’, ‘Hey Tomorrow Fuck You And Your Friend Yesterday’, ‘Stalkers (Slit My Wrist)’, ‘ Jack you Up’ and ‘Ass Backwords’, all song titles which have a daring title yet Mindless Self Indulgence nail it when it comes to the lyrics for each and everyone of these songs.

One of the most interesting songs on the album is ‘Kill You In A Hip Hop Rage’ the song is a big blast at the poor excuse of hip hop music that is gracing the airwaves these days with the likes of Kanye West, 50 Cent, Jay Z, Chris Brown killing what used to be a solid music scene, and with lyrics of “Remember back in the day when rap wasn’t gay and muthafuckas shot at each other all day, if Biggie and Tupac was alive today they would kill you all in a hip hop rage”, you really can’t argue with the point Mindless Self Indulgence are trying to get across.

It doesn’t matter if you have been with Mindless Self Indulgence since the very beginning or since their breakthrough album ‘If’ as you will love ‘How I Learned To Stop Giving A Shit And Love Mindless Self Indulgence’ no matter what as the lyrical content is still as wacky as ever whilst the instrumental work is slightly heavier and the synths are never ending yet so pleasing on your ears.


Review by Trigger

 Band Members

Jimmy Urine
Steve, Righ?
Lyn Z
 Track Listing
1. Witness
2. Fuck Machine
3. It Gets Worse
4. I Want to Be Black
5. Hey Tomorrow Fuck You and Your Friend Yesterday
6. You're No Fun Anymore Mark Trezona
7. Ala Mode
8. Casio
9. Anonymous
10. Kill You All in a Hip Hop Rage
11. Stalkers (Slit My Wrists)
12. Jack You Up
13. Ass Backwards
 Band Related Links
Mindless Self Indulgence Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?