Album Review

Killswitch Engage - Disarm The DescentKillswitch Engage – Disarm The Descent

Well after a rocky patch with their singer Howard Jones going completely off the grid leaving them high and dry KsE have made a triumphant comeback, mostly due to the fact that this has led to ex-vocalist Jesse Leech rejoining the fold to put his stamp on their new album, the first since 2002’s “Alive Or Just Breathing”. This was not the original plan, they did hold global online auditions for a new singer but then when Jesse showed interest in rejoining the lads, he auditioned himself and unsurprisingly he was chosen to front Killswitch Engage much to the approval of the vast majority of fans around the globe but none of us were surprised after Times of Grace were formed (Jesse Leech and Adam D’s side project).

In all fairness the only Killswitch album that I’m not too fond of is “As Daylight Dies”, don’t get me wrong it had its moments but mostly just faded into the background when it came anywhere near comparison with the impressive “End of Heartache”, “Alive or Just Breathing” and even their 2009 self titled effort. Holy shit that’s just made me realise this is the first KsE album in 4 years! Let’s start with the single “In Due Time” that has already been kicking around for a while now; oh my goodness what a song it is, it’s not like they’ve just reverted back to pre Howard times, they’ve kept the newly found technicality in the writing style but Jesse’s vocal chords alongside it just bring back an age my generation at least were really getting into metalcore, I mean “My Last Serenade” is still a big hit to this day.

It’s not alone in terms of infectious lyrics and sheer aggressive tones that take control of your muscles causing all sorts of impulsive headbanging or arm movements; “New Awakening” is the brute of the album I feel as even when the tempo slows the tone drops, “Turning Point” and “All That We Have” as well have a heightened level of groove provoking me to start dancing without realising.

Now i will be the first to admit, I was heartbroken when Howard left and Jesse rejoining didn’t do much for me as my favourite albums are “End of Heartache” and “Killswitch Engage” (2009 self titled not the earlier one), Howard was and is still my favourite Killswitch singer as I’ve had so much fun at gigs and enjoyment from listening with him in the fold. Facts are facts though and the fact of the matter is that Jesse has delivered possibly my favourite album of 2013 in the first half of the year, depending on what comes out after this but I have complete faith this won’t be beaten.


Review by James Webb

 Band Members

Adam Dutkiewicz
Joel Stroetzel
Mike D'Antonio
Jesse Leach
J ustin Foley
 Track Listing
1. The Hell In Me
2. Beyond The Flames
3. New Awakening
4. In Due Time
5. A Tribute To The Fallen
6. The Turning Point
7. All That We Have
8. You Don’t Bleed For Me
9. The Call
10. No End In Sight
11. Always
12. Time Will Not Remain
13. Blood Stains
14. Slave To The Machine
 Band Related Links
Killswitch Engage Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?