Album Review

Mutiny Within - II: SynchronicityMutiny Within – II: Synchronicity

I discovered Mutiny Within when they were just called Mutiny and had just been signed to Roadrunner Records many years ago, eager to hear what they had to offer I patiently waited until they changed their name to Mutiny Within and put out their self titled debut album which was an absolute musical masterpiece of which I fell completely and utterly in love with. That was in 2010 and then news broke that vocalist Chris Clancy was leaving the band and that was causing them to dissolve the project, I was heartbroken; but then I was sorting through my account and saw that there was an advert for their second album, my eyes widened and I scoured the internet to find details and as it turns out it was all true and they’ve just release their second album! I’m too excited to waffle on anymore but to cut it short they’ve decided to carry on as a band as Clancy has decided to rejoin!

What I particularly loved about the band was that I have quite a passion for aggressive music with melody, I feel that there is an art to it being able to mix separate emotions into 1 batch of music, Clancy’s vocals have immense range on top of the mass of heavy high octane drum sections, crunchy distortion and very mellow keyboard backing to give the vocals more of an effect. This has picked up exactly where they left off as a few of them were unreleased songs they were working on around the same time as the first album, “Embers” kicks us off and absolutely nothing is different style wise, obviously they’ve added things so that each song isn’t exactly the same but nothing substantial, which is a good thing in this case. “In My Veins” pushes itself to the surface with extreme aggression and we have those good old growls back, “Fall To Pieces” is incredibly bouncy in all the right places, “The Unsaid” is unbelievable evil in terms of tone at times and more like an aggressive metalcore track than that of Mutiny Within’s usual style, but it works.

Oh my goodness I don’t think I can muster the words – or am I sure any exist – to describe just how happy I am that they’ve decided to come back, I was in an ok mood today but now I’m hyped and excitable which is a good way to send me off to work. I suggest to absolutely everyone no matter what type of alternative music you’re into be it rock, hard rock, metal, thrash, hardcore anything; give this a spin and hopefully we’ll all have at least 1 band we can all agree on.


Review by James Webb

 Band Members

Chris Clancy
Daniel Bage
Brandon Jacobs
Andrew Jacobs
Bill Fore
 Track Listing
1. Embers
2. In My Veins
3. In A Moment
4. Falls to Pieces
5. Machines
6. Never
7. Become
8. Lights
9. Balance
10. Life to Dust
11. Signs
12. The Unsaid
 Band Related Links
Mutiny Within Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?