Album Review

P.O.D. - Murdered LoveP.O.D. – Murdered Love

2012 marks 20 years of American Nu Metal act P.O.D. (Payable On Death) and it would appear that to celebrate this the band has released their first studio album in 4 years! Exciting news right there as this will be their 8th full length release in 20 years, I think though the main reason they’ve took so much time away from releasing material is that their albums have been getting very mixed to low ratings since 2001’s “Satellite”, maybe they’ve been recharging the batteries and holding off till they could come back with a frontal assault on the industry, then again maybe this is just one of those for the sake of it reunion albums.

The first track features Jamey Jasta from Hatebreed so they evidentially are pulling out as many big guns as they can to produce this, to make this the album that they need to make the proper come back, the track itself quality wise I actually really like it’s got a certain, I don’t want to say it but Deftones styled sound to it which in my opinion is definitely never a bad thing, it’s got thick riffs and those heavy rap rock vocals fit into it perfectly. If you compare some of this stuff with a hit like “Feel Alive” it’s a lot darker and heavier than past material was, and quite frankly I think that approach, doesn’t mean they don’t still retain the ability to tone it back with “Beautiful” which works amazing well in the middle of the record. Songs like “Babylon The Murderer” and “Panic & Run” also have that Ragga metal feel very close to that of Welsh legend’s Skindred but only subtle, not overpoweringly close to the same style.

I really like this, don’t get me wrong Rap Rock on the whole seems to be a very competitive genre when you’ve got legends like Limp Bizkit, RATM, Papa Roach, Nonpoint the list will just go on and on you’ve got to really bring something for the table to even be recognised in the midst of the countless names in the business, while this isn’t the best album I’ve heard it definitely holds its own and firmly makes sure P.O.D aren’t going to be overlooked.


Review by James Webb

 Band Members

 Track Listing
1. Eyez
2. Murdered Love
3. Higher
4. Lost In Forever
5. West Coast Rock Steady
6. Beautiful
7. Babylon The Murderer
8. On Fire
9. Bad Boy
10. Panic & Run
11. I Am
 Band Related Links
P.O.D Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?