Album Review

Hinder - Welcome To The FreakshowHinder – Welcome To The Freakshow

Oklahoma rockers Hinder are back with their forth studio album ‘Welcome To The Freakshow’, and it seems that they are continuing the routine of making their albums bigger, faster and more diverse sounding with each new album release as ‘Welcome To The Freakshow’ is easily the most creative yet often confused album Hinder have released to date.

‘Welcome To The Freakshow’ features eleven diverse sounding songs which puts Hinder up there with the likes of Nickleback, Blackstone Cherry, Seether and Shinedown, the album opens with ‘Save Me’ which happens to be the lead single taken from the album and from the opening riffs you can easily tell why this was picked as the lead single as it packs an almighty punch, as the song progresses Austin Winkler’s vocals come in changing in sound and direction through the song where one moment his vocals are as smooth as silk and then the next they have a big gruff sound like he has swallowed a massive pile of gravel.

‘Ladies Come First’ is another heavy sounding song with a slight sleezy vibe running throughout with quirky lyrics and a mad flurry of electronic synths. ‘Should Have Known Better’ is a slow paced number where Austin Winkler really shines with his vocals taking the song by storm, the song does sound a bit like a boy band song in places but Hinder manage to pull it off. The album title track ‘Freakshow’ is a bonkers song opening up with some amazing riffs and big drum beats, with funky guitar riffs coming and going throughout the song as Joe Garvey shows off his stuff, vocally the song is really catcthy with a good set of lead vocals and chant-a-long backing vocals of “woa-oah, woa-oah”. ‘Talk To Me’ see’s Hinder go down the country music road and it works well, the song is slow but have a really nice vibe.

With ‘Welcome To The Freakshow’ Hinder have made a diverse sounding album where each and every song is different from the last, there are many quality sounding songs on the album but at the same time it leaves you wonder what kind of band Hinder want to be as there are heavy songs, slow songs, electronic songs, country music songs and even songs that verge on being poppy, I feel that the once kings of sleazy rock are slowly losing their crown.


Review By Trigger

 Band Members

Austin Winkler
Joe 'Blower' Garvey
Mark King
Mike Rodden
Cody Hanson
 Track Listing
1. Save Me
2. Ladies Come First
3. Shoulda Known Better
4. Freakshow
5. Talk to Me
6. Get Me Away From You
7. Is It Just Me
8. I Don’t Wanna Believe
9. See You In Hell
10.Anyone But You
11. Wanna Be Rich
 Band Related Links
Hinder Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?