Album Review

Manic Street Preachers - Generation TerroristsManic Street Preachers – Generation Terrorists

Anyone who went to see Manic Street Preachers play their epic 38 track ‘National Treasures’ show at the O2 Arena in December last December will know just how important and massive the band’s debut album ‘Generation Terrorists’ was when it was first released and still is Twenty years on as the set was filled of classic songs from that album such as ‘Slash ‘N’ Burn’, ‘Motor Cycle Emptiness’, ‘You Love Us’, ‘Little Baby’ nothing and many others.

Twenty years have passed since the release of the album and Manic Street Preachers are set to re-issue the album to mark the 20th anniversary and it is a must by for anyone who was too young to hear the album when it was originally released and have never had chance to check out the album since growing up, it is also a must have for the hardcore Manic Street Preachers fans but the question is which package are you going to chose and how much are you going to spend as the album is being bundled in 5 different packages ranging from a straight forward download, to the single CD anniversary edition to a double CD and single DVD legacy version to a limited edition collectors edition which includes everything listed previous plus a book and 10” vinyl.

The album has been fully re-mastered so it sounds slightly more polished to go with the digital age of music that we are all spoilt with these days and for the hardcore fans there are exclusive songs and demos, unseen video footage of music, interviews and general home footage from back in the day as as well as a massive collection of unseen photographs and more.

Musically for anyone who has not managed to check out this legendary album due to being too young when it originally came out or whatever the reason, the album is the most energetic and punk sounding material that the Manic Street Preachers have ever created, the album is what put them on the map and set them up for the extremely successful twenty year career they have managed to enjoy so far.

The likes of ‘Motor Cycle Emptiness’ and ‘You Love Us’ are easily the strongest sounding tracks on the album but then you also have the angst ridden ‘Repeat’, the catchy ‘Stay Beautiful’ and not to forget the theme from M*A*S*H ‘Suicide Is Painless’.

‘Generation Terrorists’ is the Manic Street Preachers at their best if you do not already own this album then I would seriously recommend that you head out and purchase the 20th Anniversary edition as it is a great piece of musical history.


Review by Trigger

 Band Members

James Dean Bradfield
Nicky Wire
Sean Moore
Richey Edwards
 Track Listing
1. Slash 'n' Burn
2. Nat West Barclays Midlands Lloyds
3. Born to End
4. Motorcycle Emptiness
5. You Love Us
6. Love's Sweet Exile
7. Little Baby Nothing
8. Repeat (Stars and Stripes)
9. Tennessee
10. Another Invented Disease
11. Stay Beautiful
12. So Dead
13. Repeat (UK)
14. Spectators of Suicide
15. Damn Dog"
16. Crucifix Kiss"
17. Methadone Pretty
18. Condemned to Rock 'n' Roll
 Band Related Links
Manic Street Preachers Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?