Album Review

ZZ Top - La FuturaZZ Top – La Futura

The bearded trio (Billy and Dusty by appearance and Frank by name) that are ZZ Top are back with ‘La Futura’ their first studio album in over nine years and it seems that after such a long time nothing has changed when it comes to ZZ Top as the album is as easy listening and funky as you would expect from ZZ Top as they stick to their roots.

‘La Futura’ is a big texas hillbilly rock n roll album which is best enjoyed whilst wearing your finest chequered shirt whilst tokin on your biggest Cohiba Cuban cigar. The album opens up with ‘I Gotsta Get Paid’ a song that actually originated as an hip-hop song back in the 90’s called ’25 Lighters’ buy DJ DMD with Lil Keke and Fat Pat, seriously go and check the original song out once you have heard the masterpiece that ZZ Top have created because they have fully reworked the song and come up with one hell of a dirty rock n roll anthem that is up their amongst some of their greatest songs.

Next up is ‘Chartreuse’ a short 3 minute running song that is full of groove from start to finish, ‘Consumption’ carries on the groove from ‘Chartreuse’ sounding like it’s bastard love child, whilst ‘Over You’ see’s ZZ Top put out a lovely ballad which is full of passion and strong vocals coming from Billy’s heart.

The opening four tracks are easily the strongest moments on the album but that is not to say that the album loses it’s mojo after track four as that is so not the case as ‘Heartache In Blue’ stands out for it’s amazing rhythm section and harmonica pieces, ‘I Don’t Wanna Lose, Lose, You’ is catchy throughout, and ‘Flyin’ High’ see’s ZZ Top go all pop on us with an massive sing-a-long song.

With ‘La Futura’ ZZ Top have taken on board the classic if it’s not broke then don’t fix it policy as after 43 years in the business and ‘La Futura’ being their 15th studio album ZZ Top have kept to the dirty bluesy rock n roll sound that they have been playing since day one yet come up with another set of great tracks which is bound to cause a slight shake up to the set list at future gigs now some old skool classic songs have to depart to make way for these potential new fan favourites.


Review by Trigger

 Band Members

Billy F Gibbons
Dusty Hill
Frank Beard
 Track Listing
1. I Gotsta Get Paid
2. Chartreuse
3. Consumption
4. Over You
5. Heartache in Blue
6. I Don’t Wanna Lose, Lose, You
7. Flyin’ High
8. It’s Too Easy Manana
9. Big Shiny Nine
10. Have a Little Mercy
 Band Related Links
ZZ Top Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?