Album Review

Yellowcard - Southern AirYellowcard – Southern Air

When Yellowcard went on hiatus in 2008 a lot of people were gutted and thinking that was the end of Yellowcard, yet 2 years later the band announced that they were reforming and working on a new album ‘When You’re Through Thinking Say Yes’ which was released a year later and then re-released again in acoustic format, the fans went wild and since then there has been no stopping Yellowcard as they are now gearing up to release ‘Southern Air’ their second album in just under 16 months.

‘Southern Air’ is easily one of the best albums Yellowcard have ever written it features 10 perfectly executed summer pop-punk tracks which ooze in energy and poppy perfection with each and every track having the potential to take over the airwaves and be released as future singles.

The album opens with ‘Awakening’ which happens to be the best track on the album as it features classic Yellowcard elements from start to finish and is generally just a beautiful song instrumentally, vocally and especially lyrically as at some point in life everyone can relate to the personal lyrics flowing through the song.

‘The Surface Of The sun’ opens with a bit of bounce which draws you in straight away and before you know it Ryan Kay has you in the palm of his hands with an almighty catchy chorus which you will be chanting along to.

‘Always Summer’ is the first single to be taken from the album and the track pretty much does what it says on the tin and takes you away from the current depressing English summer which still hasn’t turned up despite it being the middle of August and puts you in a temporary happy summer place for the best part of 3minutes as you listen to the charm and pure catchiness of the track.

‘Here I Am Alive’ see’s Yellowcard team up with Tay Jardine from We Are The In Crowd and what a team they make as they blast through the poppiest track on the album, the lyrics once again are well written with Ryann Kay singing “They say you don’t grow up, you just grow old, it’s safe to say I haven’t done both, I made mistakes, I know, I know, but here I am alive” as he reflects on life in a band.

Pretty much all the way through the album Yellowcard go at full throttle but they tone things down for ‘Ten’ and when I say tone down they do it in a big way and grab the acoustic guitars and sing a song about someone being taken away from you far to soon.

I feel that going on hiatus was the best move Yellowcard could have made as they have come back bigger and better and more motivated than ever before and I seriously can’t find a fault with 'Southern Air' in anyway, if you thought ‘When You’re Thinking Say Yes’ was good then you need to head out and get ‘Southern Air’ straight away as it is arguable their strongest album ever.


Review by Trigger

 Band Members

Ryan Key
Sean Mackin
Ryan Mendez
Longineu Parsons III
Josh Portman
 Track Listing
1. Awakening
2. Surface Of The Sun
3. Always Summer
4. Here I Am Alive
5. Sleep In The Snow
6. A Vicious Kind
7. Telescope
8. Rivertown Blues
9. Ten
10. Southern Air
 Band Related Links
Yellowcard Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?