Album Review
Klaxons - Myths Of The Near FutureKlaxons - Myths of the Near Future

The Klaxons are pretty new to the music scene and are at the top of the game heading the "Nu Rave" music scene and it’s good to see that the bands debut album 'Myths Of The Near Future' has eleven tracks of pure catchiness and sounds different than most bands around at the moment

'Two Receivers' opens the album brilliantly with its chilled out sound and beautiful vocals with lyrics about science fiction and space which seems to be the theme for a lot of the album. The intro to 'Atlantis To interzone' sounds like your at a rave with the loud alarm/siren sounds going off, and the fast catchy vocals make this one of the best songs on the album.

The bands latest single 'Golden Skans' was the first Klaxons song I ever heard and I wasn’t really impressed with it but after hearing it many more times it’s really grown on me and such a classic song.

The whole album is full of such good highlights from the intro to 'As Above So Below', to the bass line in 'Isle Of Her', to the indie sound of 'Forgotten Works' as well as a stunning cover of 'It's not Over Yet'. My favourite track of the album has got to be 'Totem On The Timeline' which is such a catchy song, full of random lyrics sung beautifully by Jamie Reynolds.

Each song on this album sounds different from the last making way for a good variety of sounds. If you’re not a big fan of 'Golden Skans' I would still recommend you check out this album as I didn’t like the song to start with and now I love both the single and the album.


Review by Trigger
 Band Members
Klaxons - Band
Jamie Reynolds (Vocals, Bass guitar, Keyboards)
James Righton (Vocals, Keyboards, Bass Guitar)
Simon Taylor-Davis (Guitar, Backing Vocals)
Steffan Halperin (Drums, Backing Vocals)
 Track Listing
1. Two Receivers
2. Atlantis To Interzone
3. Golden Skans
4. Totem On The Timeline
5. As Above So Below
6. Isle Of Her
7. Gravity's Rainbow
8. Forgotten Works
9. Magick
10. It's Not Over Yet
11. Four Horsemen Of 2012
 Band Related Links
Klaxons Myspace
Klaxons Official Website
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?