Album Review

Pierce The Veil - Collide With The SkyPierce The Veil – Collide With The Sky

Pierce The Veil are back with their third studio album ‘Collide With the Sky’ which happens to be their strongest album release today, the band stick with their post-hardcore sound which sounds like D.R.U.G.S, The Used and the Chipmunks mixed together, but what Pierce The Veil have done differently this time around is come up with bigger, better and heavier songs than ever before.

The album opens with ‘May These Noises Startle You In Y’ which is a short instrumental introduction which features the band tuning up and getting ready to unleash the mayhem with ‘Hell Above’ when all hell does break lose when the band come together with a mad flurry of riffs, drum beats and big stand out vocals which have a catchy streak due to the high pitched nature.

‘A Match Into Water’ tells the story of how Vic kisses the scars on the skin of a dead women, the lyrics are extremely random but well executed with some amazing vocal work, instrumentally the guitars go off like machine guns whilst everything else slots in ever so nicely giving out yet another kick arse, the only downside to the song with when it abruptly ends when you least expect it.

‘King For a Day’ is a killer track and easily one of the most accessible tracks on the album which I am sure people will come back to the most, the track features Kelly Quinn from Sleeping With Sirens and even if you’re not the biggest From Sleeping With Sirens fan you should dig this track as Quinn’s vocals are mixed in so well and work wonders alongside those of Vic Fuentes, overall the song has a massive radio friendly feel about it but also manages to keep up the massive riffs and power that everyone is used to from Pierce The Veil.

‘Bulls In The Bronx’ is another standout track that sounds ever so tasty indeed, it starts off sounding like your average Pierce The Veil song but as the song progresses towards the middle part of the song it get’s quite progressive with the band pulling off an Mexican style mariachi sound and funnily enough it suits the song and work wonders in the way that Pierce The Veil started off with what they knew and finished the track in a way you would never expect.

Throughout the album Pierce The Veil have invited many special guests to join them on the album and the biggest pleasure is hearing the world’s most hectic front man Jason Butler from Letlive team up with the bands in ‘Tangled In The Great Escape’ where things sound pretty damn intense to the point where you can easily imagine Butler running around the studio smashing into the walls whilst laying down his vocals.

You can easily tell that Pierce The Veil have taken their time and put a lot of work into ‘Collide With The Sky’ as the album is brilliant from start to finish featuring 11 killer tracks that you will want to listen to over and over again, if you have never been a fan of Pierce The Veil before now is the time to give them a chance and take them seriously as they mean business.


Review by Trigger

 Band Members

Vic Fuentes
Mike Fuentes
Jaime Preciado
Tony Perry
 Track Listing
1. May These Noises Startle You In Your Sleep Tonight
2. Hell Above
3. A Match Into Water
4. King For A Day
5. Bulls In The Bronx
6. Props & Mayhem
7. Tangled In The Great Escape
8. I'm Low On Gas And You Need A Jacket
9. The First Punch
10. One Hundred Sleepless Nights
11. Stained Glass Eyes And Colorful Tears
12. Hold On Till May
 Band Related Links
Pierce The Veil Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?