EP Review

You Had Me At Hello! - Take It OffYou Had Me At Hello! – Take It Off

You Had Me At Hello! Formed back at the end of 2009 and have since played throughout England and shared a stage with artists such as Army Of Freshmen, Paige, Lethal Bizzle and many others and whilst not on the road they have been busy writing tracks and have just completed their debut EP ‘Take It Off’.

‘Take It Off’ is a fast paced pop punk album and everything from the Less Than Jake inspired cartoon artwork to the bands fast flowing energy and positive sound is pretty much spot on, the EP opens with ‘Diamonds And Pearls’ a song which will have you hopping around like a crazed rabbit to the bouncy baselines, fast paced guitar riffs and constant drums beats, and after a couple of listens you will find yourself singing along word for word with Dan Hyde’s infectious vocals.

‘Breathless’ opens up with some guitar work that sounds like the band are getting in the sprit to cover Alkaline Trio’s ‘Radio’, but then the guitars come in at full pace with Dan Hyde’s fast paced vocals following in seconds later taking you on yet another upbeat melodic journey.

‘Pull That Trigger’ is another catchy track but features very repetitive lyrics with Dan Hyde singing “Will you pull that trigger, pull that trigger, pull that trigger” throughout the infectious chorus. As the EP progresses each and every track becomes listenable with ‘Carry On Regardless’ being that perfect closing track.

It is safe to say that You Had Me At Hello! Are an extremely talented band and they are extremely brave to be playing music that had its day in the UK a good ten years ago as let’s face it the only UK band in recent years to make a name of themselves for this style of music has been You Me At Six but then again look at how massive they are now but if You Had Me At Hello! Want to follow in their footsteps then they have a long battle on their hands.


Review by Trigger

 Band Members

Dan Hyde
Adam Doveston
Alex Riley
Jason Doveston
 Track Listing
1. Diamonds & Pearls
2. Breathless
3. Pull That Trigger (ft. Chris Jay)
4. Say It Aint Much
5. Kill The Catch
6. Carry On Regardless.
 Band Related Links
You Had Me At The Hello! Facebook
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?