Album Review
+44 - When Your Heart Stops Beating+44 - When Your Heart Stops Beating

After the split of Blink 182 a good two years ago, Tom Delonge wasted no time in getting a new band together featuring members of some of the best punk bands around, Angels and Airwaves were then born and shortly after the band released their debut album 'We Don’t Need To Whisper' which was released to mixed opinions.

Mark Hoppus and Travis Barker took much longer to emerge from the Blink 182 split and formed +44, a four piece electro-punk band and have just released their debut album, 'When Your Heart Stops Beating' which is an album full of electro pop punk songs but the downside is it seems too similar to the last Blink 182 in certain places.

The album starts off with 'Lycanthrope' which is one of the best tracks on the album. It’s pretty fast in pace and features some awesome drumming by Travis Barker as you would expect and is even better when played live. 'Baby Come On' is quite a slow offering with a fast memorable chorus which really lets Marks voice shine.

'When Your Heart Stops Beating' is the title track to the album and also the bands debut single and is the best song on the album in my opinion and the breakdowns will make you want to grab some drum sticks and drum away. '155' is a fun sounding disco punk track and is very sing a long.

From this moment the album slightly slows down as 'Lillian', 'Cliffdiving' and 'Weatherman' are pretty average tracks that offer you nothing new or exciting.

Things start to pick up again for 'No It Isn't' which is a track the band put online many months ago and is very much an anti Tom Delonge and Blink 182 split up song with lyrics of "Please understand this isn't just goodbye this is I can't stand you" and "Curse my enemies forever let's slit our wrists and burn down something beautiful". The song is very slow with classic Travis Barker drumming and is a song that grows on you more after every listen and will stick in your head for hours after.

Months ago after the split of Blink 182 when Mark Hoppus first spoke about +44 he said they were going to be a female fronted band but things soon changed and this never happened but 'Make You Smile' is closest we are ever going to get to hearing +44 with female vocals as it has a duel assault of male and female vocals and makes the track standout really well.

The album finishes with 'Chapter 13' which is a pretty average track and then we have a few acoustic bonus tracks.

To be honest 'When Your Heart Stops Beating' is a good album and a lot better than what I was expecting and really gives Mark Hoppus the chance to shine which he does on most of the songs but it’s just a shame that there aren’t enough standout moments on the album. You can’t compare this album to the debut Angels And Airwaves album as both bands have a totally different sound but what I do know is Mark, Travis and Tom were so much better as Blink 182.


Review by Trigger
 Band Members
+44 - Band
Mark Hoppus (Bass, Vocals)
travis Barker (Drums)
Shane Gallagher (Guitar)
Craig Fairbaugh (Guitar)
 Track Listing
1. Lycanthrope
2. Baby Come On
3. When Your Heart Stops Beating
4. Little Death
5. 155
6. Lillian
7. Cliff Diving
8. Interlude
9. Weatherman
10. No, It Isn't
11. Make You Smile
12. Chapter 13 / Non-Musical Silence
13. Baby Come On (Acoustic Version)
14. Weatherman (Acoustic Version)
 Band Related Links
+44 Myspace
+44 Official Website
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?