Single Review
The Who - Greatest HitsThe Who – Greatest Hits

The Who are one of the biggest rock band’s in the world today who’s music is still important today as it was back in the 60’s, everyone has heard music by The Who no matter if it was by choice or by hearing one of their song’s grace one of the many adverts on TV, or maybe even by listening to their mum and dad old music collection or even by hearing one of the new era band’s covering one of their tracks, or even by watching them headline Glastonbury Festival last year, either way everyone still knows The Who are an very important band in the music industry.

To coincide with their recent appearance at the Super Bowl 2010 The Who have decided to release yet another ‘Greatest Hits’ compilation CD, yes I know they have released many best of compilation CD’s in the past but I feel the timing of their latest ‘Greatest Hits’ release really couldn’t have been any better as the Super Bowl is the biggest sporting event in the world with millions people of all ages watching it every year who could potentially want to check out The Who’s back catalogue after the event and there is no better or cheaper way than buying their ‘Greatest Hits’.

The ‘Greatest Hits’ features all the classic tracks such as ‘I Can’t Explain’, ‘My Generation’, ‘The Kids Are Alright’, ‘Pinball Wizard’, ‘Behind Blue Eyes’ as well as my personal favourite ‘Real Good Looking Boy’ and many other classic tracks making up this 19 strong track ‘Greatest Hits’.

‘My Generation’ was the first ever single The Who released way back in 1965 and it’s hard to believe how good the song still sounds considering it is 45 years old, it has a classic sound with one of the best bass lines ever written, obviously this is a matter of opinion.

Other moments on the compilation that people will recognise are ‘Won’t Get Fooled Again’, ‘Who Are You’ and ‘Baba O’ Riley’ as all three songs’ feature as the theme songs to the CSI TV series which has a pretty big cult following.

The ‘Greatest Hits’ comes bundled with two CD’s with the second CD featuring 16 live tracks recorded from way back in 1965 right up until 2007 which easily has to be a must have collection for the hardcore fans.

If you already own a greatest hits of The Who then buying a copy of this will be pretty pointless unless you are a hardcore fan who has never heard the bonus live tracks, but then again if you own every recording of The Who you will have them somewhere, but if you are one of those people who has always liked the odd song by The Who but never bought any of their music then I suggest that you should by their ‘Greatest Hits’ as it is an fantastic release which features some of the best music ever written.


Review by Trigger
 Band Members
The Who - Band
Pete Townshend
Roger Daltrey
 Track Listing
Disc 1
1. Baba O'Riley / Original Version
2. Behind Blue Eyes / Original Album Version
3. Eminence Front
4. Happy Jack / Single Version
5. I Can See For Miles
6. I Can't Explain / Original Mono Version
7. It's Not Enough
8. Love Reign O'er Me / Single Version
9. Magic Bus / Original Stereo Version
10. My Generation / Original Mono Version
11. Pictures Of Lily
12. Pinball Wizard / Original Album Version
13. Real Good Looking Boy
14. Squeeze Box
15. Substitute / Single Version
16. The Kids Are Alright / Edit Mono Version
17. Who Are You / Single Edit
18. Won't Get Fooled Again / Original Album Version
19. You Better You Bet / Album Version

Disc 2 - Live
1. I Can't Explain (Live at San Francisco Civic Auditorium 1971)
2. Substitute (Live At San Francisco Civic Auditorium 1971)
3. Happy Jack (Live at City Hall, Hull 1970)
4. I'm A Boy (Live At City Hall, Hull 1970)
5. Behind Blue Eyes (Live At San Francisco Civic Auditorium 1971)
6. Pinball Wizard (Live In Swansea 1976)
7. I'm Free (Live In Swansea 1976)
8. Squeeze Box (Live In Swansea 1976)
9. Naked Eye / Let's See Action / My Generation (Medley) (Live At Charlton Athletic FC 1974)
10. 5.15 (Live At The Capital Centre, Largo 1973)
11. Won't Get Fooled Again (Live At The Capital Centre, Largo 1973)
12. Magic Bus (Live At Leeds University 1970)
13. My Generation (Live At The BBC 1965)
14. A Man In A Purple Dress (Live At Nassau Coliseum 2007)
15. Who Are You (Live At Universal Amphitheatre 1989)
16. The Kids Are Alright (Live At Royal Albert Hall 2002)

 Band Related Links
The Who Myspace
 Review Score Code
- Top Cheese
- Brilliant
- Pretty damn good
- Ok I guess
- What Was That?